Our Mission

The Dramatists Guild Fund has been a resource to dramatists and nonprofit theaters for more than fifty years, providing aid and offering educational programs to countless individuals.


The Dramatists Guild Fund is the public charity arm of the Dramatists Guild of America. Its mission is to aid and nurture writers for the theater; to fund non-profit theaters producing contemporary American works; and to heighten awareness, appreciation, and support of theater across the country.

The Dramatists Guild Fund depends heavily on individual contributions from theater enthusiasts across the country in order to carry out its mission. Each year, DGF provides emergency grants to writers facing illness or other unforeseen circumstances, awards grants to nonprofit theaters, reaches out to the public with educational programming, and creates writing development opportunities for dramatists at various stages in their career.

In January of 2008, the Dramatists Guild Fund was re-classified as a 501(c)3 public charity, enabling it to expand its reach through new initiatives such as The Legacy Project, a video series that documents and preserves the creative process of America’s most esteemed dramatists and Traveling Masters, a national outreach program bringing esteemed writers into communities for writing workshops and public symposia.

Based in New York, the Dramatists Guild of America has a long history of service to playwrights, lyricists, librettists and composers for the theater. Since its inception, the Dramatists Guild membership has included a broad cross-section of writers for the American stage, including legendary talents whose names are synonymous with Broadway, Off-Broadway and American Theater. To learn more about the Guild or to become a member, visit www.dramatistsguild.com.


Advisory Council

Lee Adams

Mark Hollmann

Stephen Schwartz

Susan Birkenhead

Tina Howe

Ralph Sevush

Charles Fuller

Arthur Kopit

John Patrick Shanley

Gary Garrison

Donald Margulies

Neil Simon

Joanne Halev

Lynn Nottage

Kara Unterberg

Sheldon Harnick

Polly Pen

John Weidman